Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Holiday Schedule

The following days are designated as official holidays to be observed by Embassy Kuwait during 2015.

Emergency contact at the bottom incase of Embassy Holiday Closure.

Holiday Actual Day Post Holiday
New Year's Day Jan 1 (Thur) Jan 1 (thur) AH
Birthday of Prophet Mohammed
Jan 3 (Sat) Jan 4 (Sat) LH
Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday Jan 19 (Mon) Jan 18 (Sun) AH
President's Day Feb 16 (Mon) Feb 15 (Sun) AH
Kuwait National Day Feb 25 (Wed) Feb 25 (Wed) LH
Kuwait Liberation Day Feb 26 (Thur) Feb 26 (Thur) LH
Ascension Day May 16 (Sat) May 17 (Sun) LH
Memorial Day May 25 (Mon) May 24 (Sun) AH
Independence Day July 4 (Sat) July 5 (Sun) AH
*Eid Al-Fitr July 17-20 (Fri-Mon) July 19-20 (Sun-Mon) LH
Labor Day Sep 7 (Mon) Sep 6 (Sun) AH
Waqfat Arafat Day Sep 22 (Tues) Sep 22 (Tues) LH
*Eid Al-Adha Sep 23-24 (Wed-Thur) Sep 23-24 (Wed-Thur) LH
Columbus Day Oct 12 (Mon) Oct 11 (Sun) AH
Islamic New Year Oct 14 (Wed) Oct 14 (Wed) LH
Veteran's Day Nov 11 (Wed) Nov 11 (Wed) AH
Thanksgiving Day Nov 26 (Thur) Nov 26 (Thur) AH
Christmas Day Dec 25 (Fri) Dec 24 (Thur) AH






Religious holidays in Kuwait are subject to change as they are governed by the lunar calendar and exact dates must be confirmed by religious authorities.

Emergency Contact

After business hours, U.S. citizens in Kuwait with true emergencies should contact +965-2259-1001 and your call will be directed to the Duty Officer.

In the event of a true life or death emergency, such as an arrest, death, or victim of a crime, U.S. citizens may call +965-2259-1583 during business hours. This number is not to be used for visa inquiries, appointment requests, or other non-emergency matters. Please use the appropriate email address for all other inquiries.

The Office of Overseas Citizens Services (OCS) at the Department of State in Washington, D.C., is the point of contact for family members in the United States who are concerned about a U.S. citizen family member abroad. You can reach OCS 24 hours a day by calling 1-888-407-4747 or 1-202-501-4444.